The Hoxton Is The Place To Be

Ever since I finally became of legal age in Canada in the beginning of June, I’ve been galavanting the streets of Downtown partying it up in numerous different clubs and buying one too many shots (or beers, depends on the occasion) for the night. However, throughout the craziness that is Toronto nightlife there’s one place that really stands out in my eyes and that has to be The Hoxton.

Located right at the intersection of King Street and Bathurst Street, The Hoxton has been continuously bringing the masses through its doors for the past 3 years for some wonderful events and awesome times. Having been there quite a bit in the past few months, I can definitely say that this is absolutely true. I’ve seen so many stellar and talented DJs perform there, and every time it was incredible. They may not be super big names that you hear on the radio every day, but these guys make some really good tunes and know how to play to the crowd. They’re the up-and-comers of the electronic dance music scene that are slowly changing the game from the ground up.

The Hoxton may not be the biggest club in terms of size, but its compact look and basic interior design makes for an atmosphere like no other. Even if the place is packed with people, its still very easy to maneuver and you can slide your way out in no time. Nothing but good vibes here as well; its full of people who are going for the artist and their music and to have a good time. There is the occasional drunk or idiot(s) who can’t seem to follow dance-floor etiquette but you learn to just ignore and move away from them. The sound in the club is phenomenal and I also like their barebones visual setup where you can see the DJs actually do their thing so you know its all being done live as you’ll see in the picture below. There’s less flashy stuff there and I kind of like it that way. It puts your focus more on the music and the DJs in front of you rather than on something else going on in the club.

If you do happen to be Downtown on a Friday or a Saturday and your looking to take it to the next level, I highly recommend you check out The Hoxton. You’ll have a good time I guarantee it, even if your not a fan of electronic dance music (they do have artists other than DJs perform there too!). There’s a good chance you can find me there raging the night away for the next few Saturdays…you never know.

For events & ticket info check out thehoxton.ca

The Flash, Arrow, Supernatural, The Walking Dead: That’s Right, IT’S TV SEASON!

IT’S TV SEASON


series-addict

Well, it’s October again which means just two things for me. 1. HALLOWEEN IS COMING and 2. IT’S TV SEASON! October is my favourite time of year when it comes to TV, all of the good shows come back to TV and of course my favourite SUPERNATURAL is back for another round. Rumour has it that the boys have signed on for another two seasons, which means this season just might not be the last for Supernatural lovers. Supernatural is NOT my only favourite, The Flash will be airing its pilot episode tonight too! Then there’s Arrow which is AMAZING and The Walking Dead which is a guilty pleasure of mine. Why you might ask? well I’ll get to that later, keep reading!


TONIGHT IS THE NIGHT – SUPERNATURAL IS BACK!


Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 2.44.05 PM

I’m so excited for the roller coaster that will be Season 10 of Supernatural. My favourite actor (Jensen Ackles) who is also my favourite character in the show (Dean Winchester) is now ***SPOILER ALERT*** a full fledged demon. But he’s not just any kind of demon… Dean bares the mark of cain… so what’s that mean? Basically the mark of cain is a mark that was given to Cain, brother of abel, and it has super demon power to it. — that was a horrible explanation… you should probably just watch Supernatural and see for yourself why I am overly excited and pumped to sit at my TV and watch several hours of TV Gold for the next few months.


THE FASTEST MAN ALIVE? … THE FLASH


theflash

So.. I have a confession to make…. A friend of mine notified me that there might just be a copy of the pilot episode of The Flash online – available to download… so… yea… I downloaded it…. yepp.. instant regret. I watched it a few months ago and have had to wait until TODAY for The Flash to actually start.. and technically since I’ve already seen this episode.. I made the wait even LONGER!!!… although I do regret not waiting.. it was also really worth watching because it was AMAZING.. The Flash is on par with Arrow which is also an awesome show that comes back to TV tomorrow! But first.. If you don’t know who the Flash is.. Here’s a breakdown of Barry Allen, a.k.a. The Flash.


ARROW (THE COOLER BATMAN… HAHA. JUST KIDDING)


arrow

SOOOOOOOOOOO excited for this season of Arrow. I’ve been waiting since forever to see Felicity Smoak and Oliver Queen get together. THIS SEASON WILL BE EPIC. Yea… I said that.  What better way to prepare for the new season of Arrow than to watch Supernatural and The Flash the day before.

TV SEASON IS HERE – I keep saying it but hey.. I’m excited… don’t judge me.


THE WALKING DEAD


ALL YOU DEAD HEADS MUST BE STOKED FOR THIS NEW SEASON.

the-walking-dead-season-3-poster-full-570x844

I know I am.. Now.. I mentioned earlier that The Walking Dead is a guilty pleasure of mine.. “WHYYYYY???” Some of you are probably screaming. Believe me, it has nothing to do with being embarrassed to say I like the show because that is definitely not the case. The reason it is my guilty pleasure is because I hate, hate, hate zombies. It has to be the most ridiculous concept for me. How can someone believe that a virus like that can spread and no one would be able to stop it or deal with it or cure it. It just seems illogical to me, especially with all of the weapons and technology along with the advancements in science that we continue to make daily. Now.. that being said, The Walking Dead is different… It’s not so much about the story of the zombies as it is about the people and how they survive the trials and tribulations of living in a post-apocalyptic society. Which to me, is awesome.


WHAT ELSE IS THERE?


tv-addict

So, obviously I have a bunch of TV shows on my plate as is.. however, I’m always welcome to adding a few more to my favourites list. What TV shows are you looking forward to this TV season? or maybe to you TV season is in January. I wanna know what YOUR favourite shows are! Who knows, I might just like it too!


– Amanda

Do What You Love

melted_boi_graffiti_by_one_zork-d4g6hp5

What are your favorite hobbies? Do you make time to do them? Or do you ever have time? It seems like life always gets int the way sometimes that we never have time to do the things we love. Whether its work, family, chores, work or school that gets in the way, there’s not enough hours in the day to get some down time.

Whenever I had some time to myself, or when I wasn’t working, I would draw or paint. There was just something that was so appealing about a blank page just waiting to be filled with colour and life. Since I was little, I remember sitting on the floor of my parents family room with a stack of blank paper on this wooden stool my grandfather had made years and years ago. I had my crayola makers and pencil crayons in this tin that was once a container for this sour gum my dad brought home for me. I would sit and draw on this little stool table for hours. It was my favorite thing to do. I had so many ideas and would draw lots of scenic landscapes, animals and people. Then I got older and my drawing became less and less frequent. Then the time to go to high school came around and I was excited to go to my first art class and get my creative juices flowing again. Art was always my favorite subject throughout school but unfortunately when my first art class of high school came about, my grades weren’t that great. My Art teacher was a nightmare. I tried really hard but would only get 60’s or 50’s. She was a real piece of work and it got me really discouraged until one day I discovered japanese animation.

When I was in my early teens my best friend Laura and I would watch the anime series Sailor Moon. I loved the art work on that show. I loved how the characters looked and the vibrant colours they used in the animation. This is what gave me the idea to go online and look at some amazing anime art work. I drew my first anime character that looked just like Ray from the Series Neon Genesis Evangelion.  I thought: ” wow it looks exactly like the picture!” I was hooked. I figured out I could take any character look at it and draw the exact same thing. I had a hard time drawing my own characters from my minds eye but I could do this. It’s kind of a useless talent really. But I like doing it.

Here are some of the characters I’ve drawn and painted throughout the years:

IMG_1591  IMG_1574 IMG_1585

IMG_1048 IMG_1052

IMG_1056 IMG_1075 angel

IMG_2534 trigun IMG_1594

Even though all I seem to draw anymore is characters from anime, so it looks like thats the only art work I care about. I also really do love grafitti. Im not talking about just tagging, but the actual street art. I wish I had the talent that these people do and I admire the creative abilities they have.  Here are some amazing images of what I’m talking about: Amazing Graffiti

I also love water colour but I find it to be very hard to work with but it looks really neat. An artist named Mary has a really cool youtube channel called ” Mary Doodles” where she paints different things and records her work in a time lapse setting. See what Mary Doodles!  does. She’s so talented and if you watch one video it makes you want to watch more!

So what do you like to do for fun when you have the time? It’s important to find the time and do what makes you happy!