Life Off the Air

This is the first of what will hopefully be a long series of podcasts between “#1” and “#2” with random banter on topics of the day or things going on in our lives. We also play some very cool Canadian music and give our opinions

“The NBA season is too long :(“

Shorter season?! You’ve got to be kidding me Lebron. The NBA needs to nip this in the butt before anything is made of it.

Sports podcast on the Toronto Maple Leafs, Fighting in hockey and the Reimer/Bernier duel.

Stay tuned for more from me next time! also follow me on twitter @DilanAvila92 20T copy2

MTM: ZOMBIE, ZOMBIES AND U2

MTM – a.k.a MOVIES, TV and MUSIC

Amanda Santos here with your MTM update. I will let you in on some Rob Zombie news, a little Walking dead. We say goodbye to the chelsea handler show and complain a little bit about U2 – the wonderful band…. (note the sarcasm)

jw-gacy-3-1024

^^^^CLICK THE PICTURE TO SEE THE ROB ZOMBIE HAUNTED HOUSE WEBSITE^^^^^

https://soundcloud.com/amanda-santos-86/mtm-zombie-zombies-and-u2

How do you guys feel about the whole U2 thing?… Do you think it helped with their sales?…. Was it worth it?…… you tell me!

@amanda__santos1

Everything EDM Podcast – Christian Caputo

Here’s a little preview of a podcast concept I’ve always had in mind and finally got around to doing, thanks to this podcast assignment. This is Everything EDM, a music/talk show/discussion hybrid where we discuss everything you need to know about whats going on in the dance music scene. Plus we play some some of the newest and hottest tracks out there in between rants and discussions. I would love to hear what you think of this, with enough positive reception I might actually make this a weekly thing and get some candid interviews and guests on here as well in future editions. Listen, love, and enjoy!

 

Parking Wars

 

N-CAMERA-LIVE-FEED-SHOT_1

Picture must have been taken on the weekend.


 

What’s the one thing about Humber that seems to get worse the longer you’re here? No, not the line at timmies, it’s the other line. The one outside….in the parking lot. Those early morning classes are brutal as it is but why should playing hide and seek with parking spots have to add onto our stress? I’m not bashing our school at all, I’m just shedding some light on a problem that never seems to be fixed.

NOT ENOUGH PARKING IN THE SCHOOL!

At the start of September, parking passes were over booked! Humber College or Humber Airways? You don’t want to wake up earlier in order to actually get a spot, that’s madness! You don’t want to park over at Woodbine and take a school bus even though it has heat and a radio! so epic. You brought your car to not have to take any sort of bus in the first place! You just want to come to school, find a parking spot WITHOUT PROBLEMS and get to your class, buy a booster juice or check out some booty at the gym.

I wanted to provide some comic relief for students with my podcast. It’s a parody song to Daft Punk’s – Get Lucky. I call this masterpeice, “Up All Night To Find Parking.”

!WARNING!

My voice is almost identical to Pharrell’s. Enjoy!

Let me know what other spoofs you’d like me to do, just slide into my DM’s  here  or here

Body Modifications in the Workplace

An Edmonton woman has recently started an online petition, advocating for it to be illegal for employers to discriminate against potential employees based on body modifications such as tattoos, piercings, and hair color. But some business owners are making the argument that this could hurt their businesses.

<a href="

“>

What do you think? Tweet me with your thoughts @Linda_Morgan82

99 Problems With Philys O.g

Heyyy yall! Philys O.g here bringing you yet another jaw dropping, knee-slapping, tell yo mama how good it is edition of ‘99 Problems.’ of course the 99 problems are your problems but I’m just kind enough to easily solve them for you.

Last week I spoke about being single in college and how freakin’ awesome it can be.download      I still think that’s true! Buuttttt I decided to grant you your one wish.

i’m gonna give you some tips on how to get a boyfriend/girlfriend at Humber College.

You’re welcome.

And check out my blog again next week cause…. well…. who knows what I’ll say next.

For info on events at Humber to find love go to: http://humberlife.com/

-@PhilysOg

THE SHORT BUS RETURNS!

The great minds behind The Short Bus Podcast return. They didn’t die, but they did take a month and a half off. Andy, Bunsie, and Zach (Andrew Berridge, David Bunsie, Zachary Bourdages) try to shake off the rust and get back in the swing of things. They don’t do well. They talk about nothing for 20-40 minutes. It’s hit or miss. The length of the bus ride determines everything. Bunsie had a bad day. They got an interview though. It’s been forever since they got an interview. Sorry it isn’t on Soundcloud. I’ve exhausted all my Soundcloud time on 3 different accounts. So I did it the way I know how. I used iTunes and Stitcher. Listen right here for the Stitcher version, or click THIS BOLD WRITING for the link. It’s Episode 10.

PRESS PLAY AND ENJOY OR GO TO THE WEBSITE WHERE ALL THE MAGIC HAPPENS:
SHORTBUS_mini

PLEASE CLICK EPISODE 10! EPISODE NUMBER 10! IT IS EPISODE NUMBER 10! THE REST DON’T HAVE CENSORS! THAT’S WHY IT’S EXPLICIT IN ITUNES! SO PLEASE ONLY CLICK EPISODE 10! BUT FEEL FREE TO LISTEN TO THE REST OF THE EPISODES AS LONG AS YOU’RE INSENSITIVE AND AREN’T A CHILD OR SOMEONE WHO IS EASILY OFFENDED OR DOESN’T LIKE SWEARING BECAUSE EPISODE 10 IS THE ONLY EPISODE THAT IS APPROPRIATE SO PLEASE ONLY LISTEN TO EPISODE 10 IF YOU CONSIDER YOURSELF ONE OF THE ABOVE, OR SIMILAR TO. PLEASE, ONLY EPISODE 10. SERIOUSLY, ONLY EPISODE 10!

So yeah, have a listen to EPISODE 10. (Note: Stitcher and iTunes have to update this stuff, so please wait while it loads EPISODE 10 and not one of the other episodes. Once again, sorry about not having Soundcloud, and please only listen to EPISODE 10)

Crossing Etobicoke Creek – Music Focus

969 radio humber music focus cover art alt

96.9 Radio Humber Music Focus is a podcast that focuses just on two songs. The hosts, Jared Knight-Fudge and Tylor Brewster, each bring a Canadian song and the pair discuss their opinions of the music. Of course, other topics are bound to come up in conversation.

This week we have two artists from Mississauga with wildly different styles. Tylor has brought in “Don’t Count On The Wicked” by Billy Talent, and Jared has brought in “The Riverbed” by Owen Pallett. In addition to the music, Tylor and Jared talk about the problems of the TTC, and the vultures of Finch and Kipling.

Agree? Disagree? Let us know in the comments!

Air Canada Centre and Security Guards.

Peter’s rants is a short little rant about situations that have happened in my life. This week we go back a few months to when the Toronto Raptors were in the playoffs, in game seven against the Brooklyn Nets. I got into a little situation with the security guards with regards to a Raptors flag that I brought into the building…

CRAZY ATMOSPHERE!

Below is a picture that I took of another fan in the building waving the SAME flag that I had but he doesn’t get in trouble… Ridiculous! Take in theres like 16 seconds left in the game! HE HAD THAT THE ENTIRE GAME!!!

IMG_1207

Next weeks podcast I promise not to tell a story half a year ago!

Till next time…

Anyway..

So…as I left off in my last blog post…I mentioned that I had an interviewing coming up for an internship on the Humble and Fred show. Well, last friday morning, I drove down to the studio and when I arrived, I didn’t realized I was going to be interviewed until after the show had finished, hmm, so I got to enjoy another live show, of Humble and Fred, and I also got to meet their special guest, Faisal Butt, who was the winner of the Sirius XM top comic.

Anyway..after the show wrapped, the producer and I sat down and had a nice little chat about what I’m learning in school, and how’s everybody at Humber(everybody’s great, obviously) and we started talking about what I would be learning working at the show…

HFlogoSMSo in all basically-tiveness…I am now the new intern at Humble and Fred. I will be working in the studio mondays and friday with Humble and Fred themselves and the producers, this is an amazing opportunity for me and I couldn’t be happier, and I am really excited to start working and get some great experience working for the show.

Now although I’m happy about the internship, I don’t know what it is, but lately i’ve been feeling kind of down and stressed and gloomy. For some reason, I have been so tired and un-energetic, maybe it’s cause I was really stressing over the huge seminar assignment we had to do, everyone being sick, the weather, among other things. It really sucks too, because I want to go to school and learn a lot about the business I’m apart of, but on the other hand, I just wanna stay in bed all day and not be bothered by anything.

Hopefully I’ll start feeling better soon, being sick sucks.

peace.