The Senior Student: How to deal with burnout

As much as I love this program, I have to admit, I am done with this semester. I’m more than ready to have an entire month of no all-nighters, no early classes, and no homework. Just one more week to get through until I can sleep as long as I want, catch up with friends, have a Netflix marathon…but to get there I must survive this next week.

fry

So what’s been keeping me going? First of all, I just picture where this is all going to take me. I picture myself being in the DJ chair at an awesome radio station and not having to work at a boring desk job again. Achieving the dream job will make all of this hard work worth it. Basically, I think of crunch time at school the same way I think of my tattoos – a painful process to endure, but the final product is worth it.

It also helps to take breaks. Grab a coffee or a beer with a friend, take a nice hot bubble bath, whatever. Even during exam season your brain needs to relax sometimes. And make sure you get enough sleep! A proper night’s sleep may make the difference between getting a 90 on an exam versus getting a 60.

homersleeping

Exercising is great too, because it releases endorphins to the brain, which can make you happier. Yes, I know it may be difficult to find time to do it, but even ten minutes can do wonders. Take the stairs instead of the elevator. Walk to school if you live close. If you have a dog, walk it.

Healthy eating can help too. Yes, it is difficult to find time to cook, but even if you do order out, some places have healthier options. I can’t speak for anyone else, but for me, after a certain point, sugar makes my anxiety levels go through the roof.  But a diet that includes vegetables, fruit, proteins, water, etc, will make you feel more energized.

And if all else fails, there’s only a couple of days left to get through….

Mancave – Everybody’s got a Story

Man CaveHey loyal Mancavers,

I’m back with another blog post. And this time it’s got a feature I did on a local rapper named East Side Dezzy a.k.a Jeremiah Kiriopolous. He’s got one hell of a story to tell, as he not only was in and out of jail growing up, he also lost his mother at the age of 19.

You can see the tattoo on his neck is the day she died. (November 11th, 2005).

As if that wasn’t enough, in 2007 he almost lost his life when he got shot two times.

I was fortunate enough to interview him, and tell his story.

I produced and narrated the feature.

Listen up and enjoy.

If you like his music or his story, you can check out more of him by clicking here.

Also if you’re an artist or know of any artists, then hit my twitter up for inquiries into getting your own feature done by me. https://twitter.com/GeorgeTsilfidis

Mancave – Sons Of Anarchy Finale Predictions

Man CaveAs you may know about me, from my Top 5 Movie Villain Podcast, I love the BAD GUY! I love me some organized crime movies or T.V Series’

So it should come as no surprise that I’ve been watching the Sons of Anarchy, and sadly the show is coming to a close tonight.

https://i0.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/fr/0/06/Key_art_sons_of_anarchy.jpg
Now like most movie/T.V aficionado’s, I make predictions for how I think things will end. I have a lot of expectations for the ending of S.O.A, and decided to make 5 predictions for the finale.

1.) The main character Jax Teller will die…

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/67/5e/03/675e03c07aaf1729f16f2478f883b9d3.jpg
Now I know this isn’t a bold prediction, as a lot of people have predicted this. So I’ll take one further. Not only will Jax die. The entire motorcycle gang will die as well. The show teased in last week’s episode that he would die due to a Mayhem vote. For those who aren’t aware, that’s when the rest of your club votes to have you killed. But I think that’s a swerve. There was a character at the end of season 1 or 2 named Ethan Zobelle.

https://i0.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/7/7f/EthanZobelle.jpg/250px-EthanZobelle.jpg
He was an enemy that they had cornered and had an opportunity to kill, however they let him live after rushing to Jax’s aid to find his son who was kidnapped. Now they had ample opportunity to kill him, and in fact, he is the only enemy that they had, that disappeared and didn’t die. They never mentioned him again. And that’s the “Surprise”. I’ve had this theory for about a season or two now, and have talked to several people about it. And they don’t agree with me, or didn’t think of it. (If this happens, I’m a genius. Just stating that, right now.) What I actually think happens is they are going to be taking the Mayhem vote, and he will show up and shoot the entire club. Anyways, on to prediction 2. (I Promise they won’t be as long).

2.) Nero Padilla dies.

https://i0.wp.com/img2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20141001204426/sonsofanarchy/images/e/ed/Nero_704.png

Sad I know. Why should he die. He’s a lovable man with integrity that’s an O.G. He just wants to get to the farm with his son. And that’s the reason I think he’s going to die. His past will catch up to him. Plus it’ll make people really sad. (I’m all about good characters dying in movies.)

3.) The Grim Bastards become the first black members of the Sons of Anarchy Motorcycle gang.

https://i0.wp.com/www.imarider.com/file/attachment/2012/10/d09e0b10d14b3e23732cd0aee63bc24b.jpg

I know they’ve already hinted at it, and it’s not exactly a bold prediction, but not everything that is supposed to happen does.

4.) Alvarez stabs the SONS in the back.

https://i0.wp.com/ia.media-imdb.com/images/M/MV5BMTc0NTg1OTQ3MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjgyMDE0Ng@@._V1_SX214_CR0,0,214,317_AL_.jpgWhy? Because he was the first enemy we learned about in the show. He has a rival motorcycle gang. We’re supposed to believe there’s peace between the gangs? I don’t think so. I think they purposely kept the 2 gangs from beefing so that they could save it for one last episode.

5.) Over 40 People die in this last episode.

http://img1.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20140304172912/sonsofanarchy/images/3/37/Randall_(1).jpgThat’s right. This will be the most gory episode in T.V history. I think the bodies are going to hit the Floor.
Cue the music….

Anyways those are my predictions for tonight. I’ll have updates tomorrow with how many predictions I actually got right.

If you agree or disagree with any of my predictions, or have some of your own, I want to here about. Hit my Twitter account up right here.

THE Q&A SHOW PRESENTS: EVERYBODY’S GOT A STORY

Evan McCarroll is a long-time friend of mine. We went to high school together, we got kicked out of high school together, we got in trouble together, we triumphed together and we began college together. He has been a large part of my life for many years. When Evan told me his secret, I was hurt at first that he didn’t feel safe enough to have told me sooner. After some time and thought, I realized how selfish that emotion was of me. How could I be mad, when he had been trying to live with such a big secret for so long.

This is Evan’s story…..

https://soundcloud.com/amanda-santos-86/amandasantos-tom-egas