Generally Speaking: Am I a Bandwaggoner? : Sam Smith Edition

sam_smith.02

Hey,

Clara here, and this week I’m going to be talking about how I’ve been apparently living under a rock for the past half a year..

sam-smith

Sam Smith, the man in the above photo has been striking the heart cords of many of you with his captivating voice since he gained recognition in late 2012 with his song “Latch”. He released his debut album “In the Lonely Hour” in May of this year and I have to admit that I hadn’t given it a full listen until this week. I finally understand the obsession and reason why so many have been raving about him. Not only is he handsome but he sings with so much meaning, feeling and raw emotion, something that really resonates with me as a listener. He’s a really talented artist and after listening through his album on repeat a bunch of times, I can say I’m probably considered a bandwagonner, but most importantly, definitely a fan of Sam Smith’s work.

If you haven’t listened to the album yet then you can preview and/or buy it HERE.

What artist did you sleep on and then later realize you really liked? Comment below and let me know!

Jammin’ With Geoff: The Subject of Sequels

Welcome to another addition of Jammin’ With Geoff! This weeks discussion is a simple one. Namely, when are sequels okay and when are they like taking a cheese grater to your forehead? With these questions in mind, I take a look at the release of a brand new sequel by the name of Dumb and Dumber To.

Here you go:

Enjoy!

The Gunn Show: This blog is based on true events.

Hey there. Andrew Gunn Here. This week I’ll be talking about my beef with movies that are “based on true events”.

As most people know, I’m a huge sports fan. The majority of people who know me, know this. However what many people don’t know is I’m also a big movie fan. I love movies from all kinds of different genres. I especially take a liking to horror movies, mystery/suspense, and thrillers. Now when I say horror movies, I don’t mean those corny, teen slasher flicks like Scream or Friday the 13th. I’m talking real, spine-tingling horrors, paranormal or psychological. Ones that give you a mindf*** like no other. I’m also intrigued by movies that are “based on true events”. I like movies like these because after I finish watching them, I always feel the “Whoa, that really happened?”.

There’s only one problem. Many of these movies that claim to be based on true events or based on a true story, often exaggerate heavily and fabricate the movie so much that the whole plot is fictitious with the exception of the main character’s name or the location in which the movie took place.

A very good example is a movie I just watched recently called “Deliver Us From Evil” starring Eric Bana, Edgar Ramirez, Joel McHale and Olivia Munn. This movie, (without ruining it for you), centers around NYPD Sergeant Ralph Sarchie (played by Bana), who finds himself wrapped around a criminal investigation which takes a twisted, paranormal turn. He and his partner (played by McHale), encounter evil unimaginable, and look to the help of a young priest (played by Ramirez) to help them with the investigation. Many of the scenes and plot points were in fact chilling, and while I didn’t find the movie itself to be amazing, I was intrigued by the fact it was based on true events. After having finished the movie, I decided to look up the real story behind Deliver Us From Evil and the real Ralph Sarchie, as I often do after watching a movie of this particular subject. What I found out disappointed me greatly. What we know is, there really is an NYPD Sargeant Ralph Sarchie. He does in fact have a family like in the film, and he does encounter paranormal activity. However, almost every bit of information given in the movie did not really happen to the real Sarchie, and fabricated by the director to “make the movie work”. The only true things about this movie are the names of the characters, and the location of where it took place. This really disappointed me, as it immediately took alot of the intrigue away from this movie. And it’s not just this movie that has done such a thing. This happens frequently. A movie will come out with the tagline “based on actual events” or “inspired by a true story”, which really is just a marketing tactic to bring more people into the theatre to see it. Many of these movies are extremely exaggerated and it drives me crazy.

The most screwed up part about it is? I always fall for it, time after time. I will not deny, when I see a movie come out which claims to be based on a true story, especially if it’s a horror or thriller theme, I’ll be immediately intrigued to go see it. It never fails. I guess it’s a love-hate relationship with these movies. I fall in love with the potential, and have my heart broken by the outcome.

So the next time you’re watching tv, and you see a trailer for a new horror movie coming out that claims to be “based on true events”, you can count on me falling for it once again. I hope you don’t make the same mistake.

I’m Andrew Gunn, and that’s my beef with “based on true events” movies.10811445_10154899984955232_1118637016_n

The Sarah & Isabella Show: Episode 5!

Hello and welcome back to the Sarah and Isabella Show In this weeks episode we give you a little update on what’s currently going on in our lives Starting with where we left you off on Sarah’s wedding planning situation. And we discuss the “wonderful” weather we’re having, and how Isabella’s workplace feels like Narnia.

Catch you next week on the Sarah and Isabella Show, We will talk about whatever’s going on in the entertainment world, and what is going on in our own entertaining worlds. – Sarah & Isabella

It’s the most wonderful time of the year!i

It’s Christmas Town, Christmas Town; we’re up here in the north! We’re making toys for you until December 24th! We’re the elves of Christmas Town, we fill up Santa’s sleigh; making sure that everyone has toys on Christmas day!

That is the song that goes through my head as I walk through the decorated streets, malls and department stores; and honestly I am excited as H.E.C.K! 

tumblr_mfi24pT7J61rz8v4to2_500                          tumblr_lvkp9tvZSY1qapbk3

Christmas is my absolute favourite time of year ☺ Not just because I get to open presents on December 25th of course – but because I adore the vibe surrounding the whole shebang! Some say I am utterly insane for wanting to celebrate it so early (after Nov 11th of course) but seriously, if I could I would celebrate Christmas every day of the year! 

It is one of the only times of year where my “excessive happiness” is not out of the blue!!

tumblr_mxegj3ruA81sg6uizo1_500

Let’s take a look at the non – consumer reasons WHY this is the “most wonderful time of the year” shall we?

  1. The world is covered with a beautiful blanket of snow. Although the temperature is LESS than ideal – the fact nightmaresnowflake-1414016331that world has a twinkle to it when the sun hits it just the right way, makes it look absolutely stunning! And kids play in it, what is better than the laughter of dozens of happy children?! Absolutely nothing you pessimist! So embrace their laughter, it will be the only time that the world looks like a diamond.
  2. The whole world is light up like, well, like a Christmas tree! Not only are shops even more decorated, but houses, street lamps, literally tumblr_mxwnmkiwuh1t6o9c1o1_500 everything has a solid string of lights bedazzling EVERYTHING making everything look like the Vegas strip!  As far as decorations go, Christmas lights are my favourite because they just make the world look happy and less depressed, dark and dingy!
  3. People are jollier! Although Christmas falls under the season of S.A.D, for some reason the people seem almost happier and far more polite! Don;t believe me, wish people a “Merry Christmas” and almost everyone will say it back, with a smile! There is literally no other time of year where tumblr_nf903pLBAM1tlc0ufo1_500people smile walking down the street because the decorations make them happy (unless you like Halloween), and there is almost no other time of year were talking to strangers on the street is acceptable! And honestly, people don’t usually go out of their way to do things for others, but on Christmas almost everyone does one nice thing for others!

See? Non consumer reasons why Christmas is the most wonderful time of the year! Disagree with me? FANTASTIC! Tweet me and tell me why, I’d love to hear from you…

BUT, if you agree with me….

giphy

Love Always,

Olivia Meyer

LivOnAir

HEAR THIS OR DIE: NEGATIVE QUALITIES BY SINGLE MOTHERS

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Single Mothers are a four-piece punk band from London, Ontario. The band formed in 2008, but their first record only came out this past October. Why did it take so long? Lead singer, Drew Thompson quit the band in 2011 to prospect for gold in Swastika, Ontario. Apparently his fellow miners would smoke crack often before work. Absolutely crazy. After three years, he came back to civilization, reunite the band, and record an album.

Negative Qualities is Single Mother’s debut record and it packs one hell of a punch. Blazing through 10 in-your-face punk songs in 26 minutes. Their sound is very abrasive, almost off-putting at a first listen. The lead singer screams very wordy lyrics in your face backed up by loud distorted guitars and thundering drums. I liked this record when I first gave it a listen, but didn’t love it. This is the type of album you have to play a few times to appreciate it. And that’s what happened to me. Before I knew it, I found myself returning to this album more frequently, loving it more with each listen. It’s cold and angry and I find it to be a perfect pairing for the cold weather.

The lyrics are the huge standout for me on this record. A lot of other punk bands often tend to bury the lyrics under the instruments, but here it’s the total opposite. The lyrics sit clearly on top of the instrumentals, tons of breathing room to let them get the attention they deserve. The lyrics are very wordy and the delivery of them also makes them stand out that much more. Drew Thompson is a great observer and it makes for great song topics. The lyrical topics vary from annoying bar conversations to blacking out in basements. The instruments are great and shouldn’t be forgotten. They have a good sense of dynamics, getting quiet and almost atmospheric at times and then exploding with raw energy at the right moments. Really makes for an exciting listen.

Overral, I think this is a killer debut record and the album art is equally as killer. Negative Qualities is definitely going to frequent my turntable for the next few cold months. Highlights include: Marbles, Half-Lit (which has an awesome music video), and Money. I give it an 8 out 10.

Go pick up a copy at your local record store.

Listen to the lead single, Marbles below. The song feels like one giant middle finger. It RULES.

The picture at the top was taken by me. I love taking photos and you can see more of them (if you want) here.

5 Early-Season NBA Surprises

5. Kobe Bryant leading the league in scoring.

I thought Kobe would bounce back, but this? Through the first 11 games of the season Kobe’s Los Angeles Lakers are 2-9 but he is averaging 27.4 points, 1st amongst all players. This is a 37 year old man coming off of a torn achilles and broken leg! Basketball is a young man’s game. Kobe on the other hand is spitting in the face of father time. He is taking a lot of shots on an awful Lakers squad, but this is unbelievable. He looks like he has a few years left. Now he just needs some sort of help in LA.

4. Memphis Grizzlies are good team.

Marc Gasol and Zach Randolph lead a Grizzlies team that is just nasty. Those two players are a huge part why the are the toughest team in the ENTIRE league. At 10-1 and off to their best start in franchise history, the Grizz win games by playing great team defense and playing a tough offensive game that relies on points in the paint and toughness down low. In a loaded Western Conference Memphis was not looked at as a favourite going into the season by any means, but if they can stay healthy, it’s going to really hard to stop them.

3. Roy Hibbert doesn’t suck?

The Indiana Pacers were bound to take a step back this year after losing guard Lance Stephenson (free agency) and Paul George (broken leg). Hibbert was automatically going to have to take a bigger role on the offensive end and so far, he has been excellent. Averaging 14 points, 8 rebounds, and 3 blocks, those stats don’t completely attest to how big of an impact Hibbert has on the game. He is a massive human being who clogs up the lane like nobody else in the league. The Pacers are at 4-7 and a long-shot to make the playoffs, but Hibbert has been a definite bright spot.

2. Demarcus Cousins has matured.

Coming in this season Sacramento Kings center Demarcus Cousins was widely known as the biggest hot head in the league. Racking up a league leading 16 technical fouls, Cousins was constantly losing his temper and arguing with officials over calls. Not this year! Cousins has yet to record a technical foul and even kept Head Coach Mike Malone from getting one himself when he bear hugged him on the sideline. Playing fro Team USA in the summer seems to have positively rubbed off on Cousins and his game has taken off. Not only that, but Sacramento is off to a 6-5 start. Surprise 8th seed in the West? Don’t count out Boogie and his Kings.

1. Milwaukee Bucks look pretty good.

Coming into this season there wasn’t high hopes for the Bucks coming out of Wisconsin. They just took Duke forward Jabari Parker with the second overall pick in the NBA draft and Jason Kidd came over from Brooklyn to coach a very young team. So far, so good. The Bucks sit at 7-5 and have exceeded any expectations so far. Point guard Brandon Knight looks like a totally different player and you have to think is has something to do with Kidd’s past ability as a former point guard in the league. What has been most impressive is their defense. They have a huge team with players that have incredibly long wingspans, making it hard to move the ball or get off shots in the post. This team looks good. They are very young and still have tons of room to grow. Still, I would’t count out the Bucks when playoffs roll around.

This Week in Ink: Dumb Questions/Stereotypes

images (1)

I’m a girl with tattoos (three in total, and am planning to get a fourth). Most people have been pretty cool about it. But I’ve heard some stupid things too since I got my first tattoo six years ago. Honestly, I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve gotten a dirty look in public when wearing anything that shows off my upper arm tattoo. I had some pretty crazy reactions too when I told people that the hubby and I were getting tattoos instead of wedding rings.

So here are some of the dumb things I’ve heard from non-inked people (along with some of my favorite responses to give):

1. You do realize that’s a lifetime commitment, right?

You mean I can’t just wash this thing off? Of course we realize that! But guess what? We’re not as impulsive as some might think. Some of us spend a lot of time looking at designs and thinking about what to get and where to put them. Personally, I’ve never gotten a tattoo that I didn’t spend at least six months thinking about first, and I’ve never gotten anything that has no meaning whatsoever to me.

2. I think tattoos look trashy.

Well, isn’t that polite. Does judging people for their life choices make you feel superior to the rest of the human race?

3. How do you expect to ever find a job?

You mean I can’t just walk into a corporate office with Big Bird tattooed to my face? Seriously, all of my tattoos are easily covered. Believe it or not, many of us do consider employment opportunities before getting them. And there is almost no tattoo that a well thought-out wardrobe cannot hide.

4. Wow, you must be one tough chic, eh?

If I’m a tough girl, it’s because I’ve faced a lot of battles in my life and have gotten through them. The flaming guitar on my back has nothing to do with that.

5. Is that a tattoo on your arm?

No, I just decided it would be fun to finger paint on my arm. Pretty neat, eh?

6. Aren’t you worried about how it will look when you get older?

Aren’t you worried about getting gray hair and wrinkles when you get older? I’ll just be a granny with a little more colour on my skin. Plus they have these things called touch-ups now, so my ink will look awesome for years.

7. Is that a gang symbol on your arm?

Yes. The letters under the bird are the first initials of my dead parents and dead brother. As far as gangs go, they don’t get any better than the Morgan family gang!

I don’t mind at all if someone asks me how painful it was, or how much it cost me to get. If you’ve never had a tattoo before, then you need to know what to expect. And I don’t mind talking about the personal meanings behind my ink either. But don’t jump to conclusions. I’m no more likely to rob you than anyone else is.

Have you ever gotten nasty comments for your tattoos? Hit me up on Twitter @ Linda_M82.

STN MTN

Rappers from Atlanta or from the south in general get a bad rep for only making dancing records. In the early to late 2000’s, Atlanta become New York City of the South. They always got a bad rap for stealing radio air play because of it. It might be a little true but not entirely. When was the last time you’ve heard a body of work that was saying something a lot more than what was just on the surface?… and it came from someone from Atlanta? It’s been a while. That is of course, until Childish Gambino made this mixtape. STN MTN (Stone Mountain)

2ccte1hBefore I get into who Gambino is, you need to understand the foundation of this mixtape. Legendary DJ from the south, DJ Drama played a huge part in the making of this mixtape. DJ Drama is well known for his Gangsta Grillz records. They rocked the streets of Atlanta for years and eventually became of the south. Just in case you’re wondering no, DJ Drama wasn’t rapping but he and another rapper would get together and make music for the streets. Teaming up with guys like Young Jeezy, Lil Wayne and many more it was easy to be successful. It was never about the success for Drama. He wanted to speak to the streets, and he did. Eventually becoming the anthem for the south.

At first you think to yourself, DJ Drama and Childish Gambino teaming is a bad idea. DJ Drama has a very long sheet of rappers he’s worked with and none of them have the persona Gambino has. Gambino has more of a free spirted type of rap so, the pair didn’t seem to mesh well in theory. After listening to the record, I cannot lie anymore. This was one of the best mixtapes I’ve heard in a long time. The very first track starts of with Gambino talking and he says this.

“I had a dream I ran Atlanta, and I was on every radio station. And 107.9 was 97.5 again. And they played me at Golden Glide on Friday. And they played me real loud on the street, we drive up Memorial Drive, up Wesley Chapel. I reopen 112, and Jazzy T’s. I’d bring back Turner Field. I fire all the cops in Cobb county. Chick-Fil-A will be open on Sundays. I bring back LaFace Records,Freaknik. Kilo Ali, Lou. I got J.R. Crickets some Spelman girls with big booties. I reopen SciTrek, strippers will get Mother’s day off,and I’d have my own Gangsta Grillz mixtape”

What made this intro special was that all these things he talks about are things you’ve heard rappers in the past reference before. Throughout the entire album Gambino raps over beats from artists from the ATL. Beats like Southern Hospitality by Ludacris, Go DJ by Lil Wayne and he even does his own remastered version of U Don’t Have To Call by Usher. Give this mixtape a listen and I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.

How bout them snow tires.

Hey, it’s me, Scotty Shade, and I’m back on the blogs…but don’t get too excited, because, there’s 3 weeks of school left, which means theres gonna be a S**t ton of homework/assignments to do, so I will have no time to blog after this, and when it’s the christmas break, I’m probably gonna forget all about this…sorry.

But anyway, over the past few months, I noticed that, here in Canada, we don’t actually have the regular 4 seasons, everyone believes we have, oh no no no, it’s not the simple, spring, summer, fall and winter…it’s more Rain, summer, a bit chilly, Halloween, and Winter. Way to go climate change, you really messed that up.

As some as you may have noticed, just this week, the GTA experienced it’s first snowfall of the Fall..I mean winter, and it’s occurred to me that a lot of drivers don’t get that driving fast in snow, car1causes car accidents…go figure. It was reported to that where 248 car accidents over a 6 hour period…that’s 41 an hour… I get that we just got over summer, but, did all these people really forget about snow, and how cars aren’t the best at controlling themselves in the wet snow….C’mon man.

Get some snow tires on your car. Yes they can be a tad bit expensive, but it’s a hell of a lot better, then destroying your car sliding/drifting into another car/curb/wall, as well as putting your life and others lives in danger. Winter sucks, but hello…It’s Canada, it’s going to happen, whether you like it or not.

So in the end, just remember to drive safe, be aware, and arrive alive.

– Scotty Shade.

P.S. Check out this cute little panda at the Toronto Zoo, rolling around and enjoying the first snow fall of the year.

Who knew Pandas love snow?

Is Randy Carlyle On the hot seat?

20T copy1After a 6-2 trumping in the hands of the NHL’s worst team the Buffalo Sabres.. The big bad Maple Leafs… actually not big at all, just bad Maple Leafs decided to one up, or one down themselves by losing 9-2 to the Nashville Predators. That means the Leafs have allowed 15 goals against in the last six periods and something has to be done. At this pace, everyone in Toronto will have thrown their jersey on the ice before the season has ended. So, Is Randy Carlyle on the hot seat? is he in risk of being fired? I’m sorry for the Leaf fans that want Carlyle gone and as far away as possible from the organization, but he isn’t at risk at losing his job.. yet.

As of right now, the management of the Toronto Maple Leafs are going to make the players accountable for this roller coaster that is the 2015 season. They can play with the best of the teams as we have seen in prior games against Chicago and Boston but they can also play with the worst of them, and thats what is happening right now. In my opinion, Carlyle shouldn’t have even came back after last seasons end, the players ARE NOT buying in to the system he is and they are treating him like a substitute teacher. They need a coach that will come to the team and tell them EXACTLY whats going to happen and WHEN it is going to happen. They can’t take Randy seriously because he tries to punish the players by benching them… then puts them out the next shift. something needs to be done. At this point, I don’t event think a blockbuster trade will renew the life of the team. If the Leafs organization is planning on signing Detroit Coach Mike Babcock at the end of the season do they keep Randy here and watch this team sink? or do they Sign a new coach for the remainder of the year before taking a hack at Babcock? Playing in Toronto is one of the hardest things to do because of the media always following you around, and it doesn’t help when you are not putting a good team on the ice day in and day out. With everything going on in the organization the question is who is to blame for the Leafs struggles?  Is it the players, the Coaching, the management or do fans need to “Chill” and see what happens? Let me know your thoughts on Twitter Here, Also don’t forget to like the Facebook page 2OTSports

10801932_857336337631217_7924732882707438841_n

The Mancave Podcast… Karaoke Edition

Man Cave

Welcome to another edition of the Mancave Podcast!

As always I’m your host George Tsilfidis A.K.A G-Stack George, and on this weeks episode I’m hitting more high notes than an RnB singer.

I actually throw down and start singing in the podcast. Now for a little back-story, my father is a great singer and even gets paid to sing, and his father (my grandfather) was a great singer as well. Now while I did inherit the music gene, it wasn’t in a singing capacity.

At first I thought I’d be just as bad as William Hung.

For those who don’t get the reference, watch the video below.

But after hearing myself, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.

That being said, without further adieu/ado/adoo, here’s this week’s Man Cave Podcast.

I wanna know what you think, was how good/bad was I? On a scale of 1-10.

Let me know by tweeting me here.

Tweet your number and use the Hashtag #MancavePodcast

Raptors vs Grizzlies Prediction

In this weeks episode I jump into sports and of course, the Toronto Raptors. Tonight the 8-2 Raptors take on the 10-1 Memphis Grizzlies and I do a bold prediction on who I think will win tonights matchup. Does uncle Pete pick the home town Raps to win? Or do I go against them for once and take the 10-1 Grizzlies? Take a listen and find out!.

Vince Carter:DeMar DeRozan

#Raptors #WeTheNorth

Everything EDM Blog Post – David Guetta ‘Listen’ Album Review

Hello ravers, its yours truly Chris Caputo back again, this time in blog form. I’ll be doing an early review of David Guetta’s highly anticipated 6th studio album ‘Listen.’ I just got my hands on this 14 track work of gold today and trust me it won’t disappoint. If you came in expecting this album just to be like his last album ‘Nothing But The Beat’ you are absolutely wrong. This is a totally different Guetta you’ll be listening to – all these tracks could easily become hits on Top 40 radio, but they are all unique in their own ways.

The lead single ‘Dangerous’ featuring Sam Martin sounds so out of left field but its chorus and catchiness will have you hooked. According to my iTunes, I’ve listened to this track 138 times, its that catchy! There’s other tracks on the album that really catch you off guard like ‘The Whisperer’ with Sia, which is a piano ballad that shows off Sia’s amazing talented voice or the bonus track on the deluxe edition ‘Rise’ with Skylar Grey, which is a more rock track that sounds like something from The Black Keys.

As with any David Guetta album, the list of collaborators is nothing short of stellar. There’s singers like John Legend, Nico & Vinz, Magic!, Ryan Tedder, and Nicki Minaj who appear. Many other DJs and producers lend their talent too like Afrojack, StadiumX, Nicky Romero, Avicii, and Showtek (who appear on two tracks – ‘No Money No Love’ and ‘Sun Goes Down’).

With this album, David Guetta promised that it would be something very different from his previous pop sounds and it definitely lives to that promise he made. Give this album a listen, its totally worth it. Thats all you need to do, just ‘Listen’ and let this work of music speak to you in a way it hasn’t before.

Preview the album here: https://soundcloud.com/davidguetta/sets/david-guetta-listen-deluxe-edition-previews

Follow David Guetta:

twitter.com/davidguetta

instagram.com/davidguetta

facebook.com/davidguetta